Saladicious!! (Quinoa & Pumpkin)

I get really annoyed when people tell me I don’t need to be on a diet. I want to scream that I’m simply eating healthy food not dieting and that it’s not only good for me but also DELICIOUS!!

What I’ve found is that when people think healthy they also think boring like garden salad. Today I went on a mission to make me first ever Pumpkin & Quinoa Salad. I love buying these when I’m out and with Dad on a diet on the advice of his doctor I wanted to show him low calorie isn’t the same as tasteless.

20131019_132928

It was really simple to make but most importantly it looked great and tasted it too. Served in the pan the zucchini was cooked in and on a wooden chopping board to save mum and dad’s dining table, I took a photo and declared myself the new giant ginger Australian Jaime Oliver. There is nothing better than thoroughly enjoying a meal that had come out looking just as good as it does in the professional chefs photo.

It takes time but most of it is unsupervised cooking so it’s well worth the limited effort. Make sure you allow for the extra calories for feta as it makes the dish.

Recipe here with some great nutritional advice from the chef, Teresa Cutter.

Quinoa with Roasted Pumpkin, Zucchini and Basil Pesto

Leave a Reply

