It’s not Quinoa its Keeeenwahhhh!

Ok so while I love to eat I’ve never been so fantastic at knowing foods outside my comfort zone.  With a commitment to BE LIKE NIKE and “Just do it”, I am now required to try (or re-try) a whole lot of foods I’ve never experienced or thought I didn’t like.  So far I’ve added the following ‘new foods’ to my list!

  • Peanuts (and by virtue CRUNCHY peanut butter!)
  • Sushi
  • Squash
  • Zucchini
  • Quinoa
  • Strawberries
  • Cherries
  • Blueberries
  • Muesli

And I’m sure there are many more that I can’t currently recall.

Anyhow, on a visit to my favourite sister-in-law’s house we were discovering the wonderful vegetable (ok, seed) that is Quinoa when Sare kindly informed me that “It’s keeenwaaaah not kwinohha Kirsty!” I cringed as I imagined the kiwi sitting there laughing thinking “God my wife should be on Kath & Kim – the only difference is no acting required!”.

Not only do I know how to pronounce it now but I can also cook it.  I was delighted to receive a text showing me Sare’s half eaten Chicken and Quinoa lunch. It looked yummy so I immediately demanded she provide me with a recipe for all those health crazed Quinoa loving hippies out there.  So here goes…

Sare’s Lemon Chicken and Quinoa Salad

ImageImage

600ml water and 1 cup quinoa
2 chicken breast
1 tsp olive oil
2 red chillies
1 lemon (all of juice and some zest)
Tomato, feta, and zucchini to serve as required
1. Cook quinoa until tender, drain well. (For those like me, bring to the boil then simmer for 10-15 minutes)
2. In a pan cook sliced chicken breast with juice of one lemon and grate off some of the rind. Add a chopped chilli to lemon and chicken, cover and let simmer till water evaporates.
3. Ribbon cut some zucchini (I used a potato peeler to slice off the ribbons) grill them for a minute.
4. Put quinoa in a bowl and add some chopped feta, tomatos, the zucchini and the chicken. I (Sare) added some sliced raw chilli to the top but that’s because I love spice.

NOW…. it’s not that I don’t trust Sare’s cooking skills **COUGH** but I mixed the recipe up a little.  I LOOOVE pumpkin, especially when roasted for an hour so its all caramelised with a little cinnamon on it for added flavour.  I popped the pumpkin in the oven and for the first 40 minutes I let the chicken sit in the lemon juice with a little squeeze of lime. When the pumpkin was 20 minutes off being ready I popped the chicken in with it.  I also added coriander left out the chilli because spice and I aren’t friends (yes I’ve tried but Nike said “maybe dont do it” for this option) but I think it would really be the finishing touch on the dish.

Image

The chicken was DELICIOUS so I should now also add LEMON to my list of foods I now like. Total calories per serving is just shy of 500 but this could be reduced by adjusting the amount of Quinoa or Cheese.

To close out here is my fun fact for Quinoa: According to quinoasuperfood.com, Quinoa is high in iron (amongst other fantastic nutritional things like amino acids, protein and fibre).  I decided to check this with my good friend GOOGLE. Yes I looked up the “top 10 foods highest in iron” and Googled just how much iron is in them.  Here’s the result (I got bored after the first 5, give me a break):

  • Steak: 1.4mg/100g
  • Egg Yolk: 2.7mg/100g
  • Spinach: 2.7mg/100g
  • Artichokes: 1.3mg/100g
  • QUINOA: 4.6mg/100g

I think that says it all. Move over rice. Quinoa is here.

One thought on “It’s not Quinoa its Keeeenwahhhh!

  1. funny thing about adding pumpkin was that I had the exact same thought when I was eating my salad, “needs pumpkin”. so I roasted some for my leftovers but never got to enjoy it as my husband also liked the look of my cooked pumpkin in the fridge and kindly packed it for his own lunch the next day. :-O

Leave a Reply

