Red Rice Restaurant – Fitzroy

The happy crêpe haze in my belly had worn off after a couple of hours of shopping.  With my purse now 2 dresses and a jersey lighter, spotting a $9.90 specials board in front of Red Rice Restaurant seemed like fate.  Settling in to a little table in the front window we opted to share an entree and lunch special.  Quail with Chilli Soy Sauce and a Chicken Dumpling Soup.

Quail is not something I’d normally choose which is of course why I chose it under my “Be Like Nike” motto – JUST DO IT!  And I was very glad I did.  The quail was juicy and delicious on its own but after the first “mini chicken leg”, I realised I’d forgotten the sauce which was really what made the dish.  It really wasn’t spicy at all despite the reference to “Chilli” which didn’t worry me in the slightest, it was the perfect size for a light lunch when accompanied by a small bowl of chicken dumpling soup I stole from Steve.

Image

Image

The chicken dumpling soup while only containing two dumplings was yum in its own right. Boiled chicken, noodles, bok choy, vermicelli noodles in a light traditional vietnamese broth.  The best part was that you could tell the dumplings were chicken.  Unless there is a whole prawn in a dumpling, I’d often not be able to pick the ‘meat’ that’s gone into them but there was no mistaking these.

A combination of the two dishes was more than enough for us and at $20.80 for lunch – it was light on the pocket as well.

Red Rice Restaurant
193 Brunswick St Fitzroy VIC 3065‎
(03) 9415 7513
Leave a Reply

