A Zero Thumbs Up Zucchognaise

This week has been a great week.  I live in Melbourne, I wake up to an amazing view of a beautiful city, often with a skyline painted pink.  But my life is simple and I never could have predicted when I woke up yesterday morning, that on a simple Wednesday night, my life would change forever…

I arrived home after an extremely satisfying day at work. I like the people I work with and the less than capable person who held my role before me had left giving me full control of the circus.  For those who don’t enjoy their job in the way I do, I could only describe it as what Garfield would feel like after consuming an oversized plate of lasagne.

I decided that I would be cooking a family favourite – spaghetti bolognaise.

I need to stop here and remind everyone that I am on a healthy eating plan.  I am also a carb addict.  I realise a carb addict on a healthy eating plan is an oxymoron.  Think about potatoes. Best food on earth.  You can make the world out of potatoes. Lets not go into detailed recipes – just start with the basics – mashed, roasted, boiled, fried (chips), some other sort of cooking (crisps) and of course, my personal favourite, VODKAFIED.  Pasta comes a close second purely because it makes lasagne and spaghetti bolognaise.  I can feel the involuntary drool dripping down my chin just thinking about it.  In fact, the only way you could improve on lasagne is by serving it on a naked George Clooney…. But I digress.

I arrived home and began dinner.  Steve chopped the veges and I sautéed the meat. Cooking everything to perfection as Steve set the table, I served up and sat down while Steve yelled at me “hurry up and take the photos – hot food’s good food.”  Sheesh. I tell you what. I work all day, come home and cook him dinner and he gets all antsy with me about my photos! This however is where the talking stopped as we realised that I’d struck gold. We shovelled the food down like pigs at the trough until I mentioned that this would have to go on my blog which is when my world changed.  Steve looked at me and said….

“I give it zero thumbs up… Because my hands are too busy stuffing my face”

That was it. I no longer had to cook dinners or desserts. I no longer had to cook in an attempt to continue to grow my foodie soul. I’d achieved the closest I’ll ever come to enlightenment – my non-ethusiastic, 10-15 years max husband had given me a zero thumbs up.

So to all those raging, healthy eating enthusiasts out there with manly husbands that need a real meal, I recommend you serve them this.  For those mothers with frustrating, fussy, non-vegetable eating children, I suggest you give them up for adoption and get a dog, or feed them this.  And for all those lucky single people – I suggest you make this and eat both serves – just because you can – guilt free.

Here it is:

__________________________________________________________________________________

Sarah’s Bolognaise with Healthy Chef‘s Zucchini Pasta

Image

Serves 2
400g Zucchini (2 x large zucchinis)
1-2 tsp oil (we used lemon myrtle infused macadamia oil but I’m not expert, use whatever is in your cupboard!)
300g pork mince (lean beef mince is a healthier alternative)
200ml tomato soup
1tbsp tomato paste
0.5 Medium Onion (we didn’t put this in but you’re welcome to)
Then these herbs, spices & sauces to taste:
Sweet Chilli Sauce
Woustershire Sauce
Chives
Oregano
Paprika
Thyme
Minced Garlic

1. Heat the pan with a little spray oil (or none at all if you have a non-stick pan) over a medium heat

2. Add the mince and tomato sauce to get a nice smooth bologanise at the end

3. Once the meat is cooked through, add all other ingredients and simmer for 10 minutes.

4. While simmering, slice the zucchini into long thin strips.  Then cut each strip lengthwise to create spaghetti-like zucchini

5. Heat the macadamia oil (or your choice) in a pan. Cook the zucchini on medium heat for 2 – 3 minutes.

6. Serve as a plate of heaven.

I am sure Sarah’s official recipe is much more specific but I can never remember what goes into it (quantities anyway) and regardless, it always turns out delicious – so you can’t go wrong.  I hope everyone else reaches enlightenment too! Over and out.

3 thoughts on “A Zero Thumbs Up Zucchognaise

    • You definitely should, I can vouch for zucchini spaghetti being slurpable which I know Ella loves to do! I would recommend separating the bits with skin when you cut it up and only giving her the ‘white pasta’ as the green bits may put her off. No need to peel the zucchini though – you and James can have the ‘adult vege’ bits!

  1. Your such a foodie Kirst.. You’ve fully inspired me. Stiffy and I are going to cook zucchognaise for din dins this week 🙂 P.S I LOVE the onesie! Stiffy says he wants one now. X

Leave a Reply

