Put down the pie… And pick up a sausage roll?

I get frustrated when people make excuses, whinge or blame and don’t take accountability.  Sometimes I annoy myself by doing just that.  Almost 6 months ago, on 1 July 2013, I decided that I was not going to eat ‘crap’ anymore because I wanted to be healthy.  I also didn’t want to be that annoying person that whinges about how they feel or look but does nothing about it.  Don’t get me wrong – pork belly still appears on my plate…I drool on it, sniff it, lick it, put it back on the plate, drool some more… then I think about eating it, sniff it again, then take that little bite of heaven… at over 5 x lean meats in calories – let me tell you – its worth it… And I’m having it for dinner tomorrow – so prepare yourself.

Now it doesn’t stop at pork belly… chocolate, pancakes, pizza, bolognaise and a vast array of desserts also make their way into my belly…In fact I had Mango No Bake Cheesecake for morning tea… That was after getting approval for a 5 week trip to Europe in 2014 (woohoo!) and eating some cadbury chocolate out of my drawer (yummo!) What doesn’t make my belly happy is McDonalds, Hungry Jacks, KFC, highly processed foods or just menu items that are stupidly unhealthy.

In fact, I continue to be amazed at just how much I can eat in a day and still come under my ‘weight maintaining’ calorie goal (thank you myfitnesspal for the best and easiest way I’ve seen to track calories)…

Google tells me a Brumby’s sausage roll has about 500 calories (a smidge under)… Thats somewhere between half and a third of your daily food intake when on a calorie level to lose weight.  So to prove that there are no excuses, here is a homemade chicken sausage roll that is 233 calories a serve… not a serve to feed a model trying to get down to a size 4 because she’s too fat – a serve that is probably 1.5 times Brumby’s sausage rolls… And yes, there’s hidden veges to keep the kids in check too (or should I say, the parents happy too)!

__________________________________________________________________________________

Chicken& Vege Sausage Rolls (original recipe by Not Quite Nigella)

Serves 8

2013-12-23 18.24.16

  • 500g/1 pound chicken breast or thigh (minced)
  • 1 onion, chopped finely
  • 1 carrot, chopped finely
  • 1/2 head of broccoli, chopped finely
  • 2/3 cup of dried apricots, chopped finely
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 8 sheets of filo pastry
  • 1 egg, whisked for egg wash
  • 15g butter (probably less)

1. Preheat oven to 200C/400F. Line two large trays with baking parchment. Take out the filo pastry to defrost.

2. In a bowl mix the mince, onion, carrot, broccoli, apricots, egg, salt and pepper. Because we had chicken thigh instead of mince, I popped all ingredients into a processor to combine. Given there’s two of us, I only did a half batch and our little processor (connected to sastick blender) took this in its stride.

3. Layout 1 filo sheet. Cover sheet lightly with melted butter then lay another on top. Fold the two sheets in half long ways.

4. Halve the mix and and spread down the middle of the pastry – you’ve all seen a sausage roll, aim for that shape. Roll the sides of the pastry over the mix putting a little egg wash on the edge to stick it down.

5. Cut the roll into pieces to the size you like and pop on a lined oven tray.  Brush the remaining egg wash on the top to help the pastry brown.  We also poked holes down the roll with a fork – although have no idea if this made a difference.

6. Place in the oven for 20-25 minutes… or until the pastry has the colour of a Gold Coast Meter Maid at the end of Summer.

7.  Remove from oven and let cool or simply burn your tongue and smash it down.

*** Disclaimer: Original recipe calls for low fat puff pastry. We had filo on hand and it was delish.  I personally liked the flavour without any add ins but the slightly less than better half has suggested throwing some more herbs and spices in to match your personal taste (maybe parsley) and consider accompanying with an avocado or hommus dip. Obviously be cautious of the added calories of a dip option!***

Leave a Reply

