Wendy’s Crunchy Chicken Bake

I am told this chicken bake was a family favourite for my cousins and having now tried it, I’m disappointed it didn’t appear in my childhood home more often. It was quick, simple and will become a regular in this household.

2013-12-28 17.12.49

A few quick points we discovered while cooking:

  • We didn’t have green capsicum so substituted with a couple of cups of broccoli florets. I am biased as I love broc but I can’t imagine the dish without it.  I am sure you could pop in whatever is in the fridge and it will be fine
  • I had chicken thighs on hand and not reading the recipe properly threw it in raw.  By the time I put everything else in it was mostly cooked and it was well and truly done after half an hour at 180. I’m not dead yet so I assume the pre-cooking of the chicken is an optional extra.
  • Sherry does not appear in our panty so we left it out.  I wasn’t able to taste test before baking due to the raw chicken but I would have added a bit more mustard or white wine to compensate.

DELICIOUS!

__________________________________________________________________________________

Crunchy Chicken Bake

SERVES 4

2013-12-28 17.07.40

  • 1 large cooked chicken
  • 30g butter or margarine
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1 3/4 cups milk
  • 1 tsp french mustard
  • 2 sticks celery, sliced
  • 1 green capsicum, de-seeded, quartered
  • 1 onion, quartered
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp dry sherry
  • 6 slices stale bread, crumbed
  • 2 tbsp chopped parsley
  • 90g butter
  • 1/4 cup parmesan
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees
  2. Skin and bone the chicken and chop flesh
  3. Melt butter over a low heat then mix in the flour. Cook for a few minutes as this reduces the floury-taste. Add the milk and cook until the sauce thickens slightly
  4. Stir in the mustard then the chicken
  5. Add the vegetables, lemon juice and sherry then transfer to a greased oven proof dish
  6. Combine the breadcrumbs and parsley then sauté in the butter
  7. Cool slightly then combine with the parmesan
  8. Sprinkle the crumb mixture over the casserole
  9. Bake for 30 minutes.
Leave a Reply

