Make sure you twat yourself!

For most of my life I was (to the best of my knowledge) an only daughter.  My older brother was always wonderful but if I wanted to do girly things or go shopping or anything of that nature it was Mum or a friend tagging along.  Don’t get me wrong – my Mum is a great shopper and of course so were my friends, but there is a place for every relationship… except in my life, no one filled the spot for a sister.Until that day.

I was 16 14, awkward looking and had the attitude of most teenagers (Steve has indicated that as I am ginger you need to apply an ‘angry ginger factor’ to the level of attitude).  I walked into our foyer after having finally made the journey home from school when I heard my brother say “see I told you she didn’t get lost”.  I flipped him the bird.  He introduced me to Sarah.

Our bonding was instant.  It started with me very quickly realising that James would do anything to keep his girlfriend happy.  I would ask him for a drink, he’d say no. I’d look at Sarah. Sarah would ask him for a drink. Ta daaah. I have a drink.

We have had millions of conversations about everything from boys and shopping to Dad being so angry about James having a girlfriend. I remember one time asking Mum why Dad was so thingy about it.  She informed me that he felt James was being a bad influence by flaunting sex in my face.  I laughed indicating that at 16 I had already figured out the bird and the bees situation – then told Mum, “Besides – when James is going straight to Sare’s house after work, I pack his bag for him sometimes and he makes me put his condoms in – I’d say if anything he’s teaching me safe sex so Dad shouldn’t worry!”  I’m going to take a stab in the dark on this one and say Mum probably didn’t share that conversation.  Perhaps I’ll relay that story to him next time I visit!

I won’t go into that one time where we were both at a girls night (some years after we met) and for whatever reason the question was asked “What’s your favourite position?”  Thank you Sarah for enthusiastically jumping in to answer that one.  It’s a picture which is burnt mortifyingly into my mind that I hope will be the first memory to be erased should Alzheimer’s land on my doorstep.

A decade, a wedding (in fact 2 weddings – one for each of us!), 2 children and 5 puppies later – Sare is now legally my sister(-in-law) and we talk on a daily basis.  In fact, that brings me to the point of this blog.  We are both on a quest to become healthy and we were texting about the potential results of a weigh in the next morning. Sare indicated she had treated herself to a special dinner after having such a good week sticking to healthy meals to which I responded:

“Don’t twat yourself until after you weigh in Sare!”

Now.  I wasn’t sure what was funnier. The fantastic placement of my auto-correct in this context or the fact that my phone dictionary prioritises the word twat over treat.  So in honour of my my little big sister’s right to twat herself, I am posting this 196 calorie treat.  Enjoy.

Healthy Jam Donut Muffins

2014-01-13 20.33.47

Donuts (makes 4)

  • 3/4 cup of white flour
  • 1/2 egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp applesauce
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp low fat milk
  • 4 tsp strawberry jam or anything of your choice! I’ve tried peanut butter + jam as well as a square of chocolate and all were very yummy!

2014-01-14 19.33.14     2014-01-14 19.35.20

Topping

  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  1. Preheat your oven to 170 degrees.
  2. Sift the flour, salt, nutmeg, and baking powder into a medium-large bowl then mix.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together the egg, sugar, milk, vanilla, and applesauce.  Slowly stir the wet and dry ingredients together until mixed.  Try not to overmix or the cake will become tough.
  4. Scoop 1/2 tbsp of the mix into 4 x 3/4 cup ramekins (or muffin tray) greased with spray oil (not butter – it doesn’t ruin it but it sticks more). Then place 1 tsp of the jam in the centre of the batter. Cover with another spoonful of additional batter.
  5. Bake for 17-18 minutes. The tops will not brown but will be firm.  If the oven is too hot or you leave it in too long you will find that the shape will peak like a muffin rather than staying round and flat like a donut.
  6. Allow to cool for 3-5 minutes then remove from the cup.                  2014-01-13 20.25.44

  7. Melt 1 tsp of butter in a small dish. I put this in a cup and pop into the now cooling oven while I’m waiting the 3 minutes for the donuts to cool. Mix the brown sugar and cinnamon together on a small plate.
  8. Once melted, spread the butter on the donut with a pastry bush or similar then roll into the brown sugar and cinnamon.

2014-01-14 19.31.18

Leave a Reply

